You Award

The YOU Awards

Although we are very proud of the awards and accolades that we have won since 1979, The YOU Award is still the most important to us. Every customer reviews us every time YOU dine with us. We know it's BEST to have YOU judge us by being sure every time that you dine with us, it is the BEST and Freshest Seafood!

2020 New Haven Register Readers Poll

2020 New Haven Register Readers Poll

We are so happy that we we won 5 awards this year in the 2020 New Haven Registers Best of Reader's Poll.
VOTED BEST SEAFOOD
VOTED BEST LOBSTER ROLL
VOTED BEST CHOWDER
VOTED BEST OUTDOOR DINING
VOTED BEST HOT DOG
Some of what they wrote:"winners in the Best seafood category due to fresh, local seafood, big portions, and the staff that's been with Lenny & Joe from the early days.....relaxing and casual atmosphere, the prompt & cheerful service and above all, a host of fresh seafood favorites "

Shoreline Book

2019 Shoreline Book • Top Restaurants

We were very proud to have once again been recognized by the Shoreline Book as one of the Top Restaurants on the CT Shoreline for both the Eastern and Western Shoreline! They commented: "Their Lobster Roll is still King, but the cod and scallops are right up there!"

E-List Best of Readers Poll

2019 E-List Best of Readers Poll

As we celebrate our 40th Year in business, and strive to be a Fresh, Fun and Casual Family restaurant…. we were thrilled to be awarded #1 in Best Family Friendly Dining by "the e-list" readers 2019 Best of the Shoreline. We also won an award for the Top 3 Favorite Lobster Rolls.

New Haven Register Readers Poll

2019 New Haven Register Readers Poll

We are so proud of the wonderful awards that we won in the 2019 New Haven Register's Best of Reader's Poll!
VOTED BEST SEAFOOD
VOTED BEST LOBSTER ROLL
VOTED BEST HOT DOG

Shoreline Newspapers Best of Readers Poll

2018 Shoreline Newspapers Best Of Readers Poll

We are very excited about the wonderful awards that we won in the 2018 Shoreline Time's Best of Reader's Poll! We were VOTED #1 BEST SEAFOOD and #1 BEST CHOWDER. We also placed in the top 3 for the Best Lobster Roll. Thank you to the readers.

2018 Shoreline Book Top 10 Restaurants

2018 Shoreline Book - Top 10 Restaurants

For our LUCKY 13th Year in a row, we were named as one of the Top 10 Restaurants on the CT Shoreline for both the Eastern and Western Shoreline! They wrote "A Shoreline Legend-period, starring an extensive menu of New England seafood so good that crowds of loyal followers, locals and tourists alike, have been totally hooked for years!"

Best of Summer 2018

Best Of Summer 2018

The Best of Summer 2018 Guide by Hearst Media suggested this as a must do summer activity. "Summer just wouldn't be complete without a trip to Hammonasset State Park……and then stop by Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale in Madison for some fun & seafood. Kids will enjoy the Magical Charity Carousel and a visit to the outdoor ice cream shack for some soft serve ice cream.

2018 E-List Best of Readers Poll

2018 E-List Best of Readers Poll

When you've been in business for 39 years and take pride in being a Family Restaurant with generous portions and reasonable prices….it's very satisfying to be awarded #1 in Best Family Friendly Dining by "the e-list" readers. The-e-list is an online guide to the Best of the CT Shoreline. www.the-e-list.com

Summer on the Shoreline-Best Beach Eats

Summer on the Shoreline-Best Beach Eats

We were recognized in the 2018 Summer on the Shoreline Guide, Beach Eats. They commented, "Those in the know say it's the best fried seafood you'll find!"

2018 Best of New Haven Register Readers Poll

2018 Best Of New Haven Register Readers Poll

We have been honored in 4 Categories in the New Haven Register 2018 BEST OF Poll!
• Seafood Restaurant
• Chowder
• Lobster Roll
• Outside Dining
Thank you!

The E-List 2017 Reader's Poll

The E-List 2017 Reader's Poll

Very proud to have been chosen by the 2017 BEST OF THE SHORELINE READER'S POLL by "the-e-list" as the #1 Best Family-Friendly Dining! The-e-list is an online guide to the Best of the CT Shoreline. www.the-e-list.com

Best Places for Crab in Connecticut

Best Places for Crab in Connecticut

Best Things in CT named Lenny & Joe's one of the Best Places for Crab in CT. They wrote: Lenny and Joe's Fish Tale is one of the most popular low-key seafood spots in the state. Their lobster rolls are well-loved as are their fish and chips. They also serve up a delicious soft-shell crab roll, fried crab cakes, hot buttered rock crab roll, and several crab casseroles. For something a bit healthier, they also offer a salad topped with a heaping of chilled rock crab meat.

2017 Top Ten Restaurants

2017-18 The Shoreline Book • Top 10 Restaurants

For the 12th consecutive year we were named as one of the Top 10 Restaurants on the CT Shoreline for both the Eastern and Western Shoreline! We are very proud of these awards!

Connecticut Magazine 2017

2017 CT Magazine Best Restaurants Expert's Picks

We were selected as one of the expert's picks in the January 2017 issue of Connecticut Magazine for BEST SEAFOOD in the State!

Best Seafood Shoreline Times 2016 Reader Poll

Best Seafood Shoreline Times 2016 Reader Poll

Very happy to have won the BEST SEAFOOD RESTAURANT Award again in the 2016 Shoreline Times Reader's Poll. We also won awards for our Lobster Rolls & Clam Chowder. They wrote; "Living by the Shoreline we have our share of seafood establishments, but the Shoreline Time's Readers have cast their votes in our Best of poll and have chosen Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale….."

New Haven Magazine "Hometown Big Hits" 2016

New Haven Magazine "Hometown Big Hits" 2016

We were honored to be recognized as one of the CT homegrown small multi unit restaurants that offer the convenience of quick consistence service, affordable meals and a menu for the whole family.

1,000 Places To See Before You Die

1,000 Places To See Before You Die

We're in the Book! Lenny & Joe is thrilled to be included in the completely revised & updated 3rd edition of 1,000 PLACES TO SEE BEFORE YOU DIE!

CT Magazine 2016 Lobster Roll Call

CT Magazine 2016 Lobster Roll Call

Very Happy to be included in the August 2016 CT Magazine list of seafood havens that do the CT Lobster Roll Proud! They said "Long beloved by CT families, Lenny & Joe's has been serving up a wide variety of freshly fried & broiled seafood since 1979. There's plenty to choose from here, but the Lobster Roll has always been a best seller…Lenny & Joe's lobster roll features 4 ounces of 100% Atlantic lobster meat (primarily tails & claws), served hot with clarified butter and a lemon wedge"

BEST of New Haven Living Magazine Reader's Poll 2016

Best of New Haven Living Magazine Reader's Poll 2016

Our New Haven Restaurant was SEA-lighted to place in the Top 3 with Awards for Best Seafood and Best Water View!

AAA • BEST LOBSTER ROLLS

AAA • Best Lobster Rolls

We were featured in the August 2016 issue of the AAA Magazine for the best 5 places to enjoy lobster rolls. They wrote "sometimes we want the sweetness of lobster without the mess….Head to Lenny & Joe's that specializes in Lobster rolls…. you'll find chunks of cooked lobster, drizzled with melted butter, tucked into a grilled hot dog bun." "Their 3 locations give AAA travelers a chance to indulge in the crustacean specialty or any of Lenny & Joe's fresh seafood dishes."

The-e-List: Best Family-Friendly Dining

The E-List: Best Family-Friendly Dining

We were pleased to have been recognized on the 2016 BEST OF THE SHORELINE READER'S POLL by "the-e-list" as one of the 3 Best Family-Friendly Dining Places!

The Shoreline Book • Top Restaurants

The Shoreline Book • Top Restaurants

We were named as one of the Top 10 Restaurants on the CT Shoreline for both the Eastern and Western Shoreline! They wrote, "Lenny & Joe's is fast, fresh, and never flounders! The Lobster Roll is king, but the Fresh Cod and Scallops are right up there!"

Best Outdoor Spots to Sit Back With Tasty Eats & Cool Drinks

CT Magazine selected some of their favorite outdoor spots. They wrote: "The New Haven restaurant is located right on Long Island Sound & there are walls of windows to take in the view, but it's the spacious, wrap-around deck that landed Lenny & Joe's on this list." "from 4 picnic tables at a roadside clam stand in 1979 to 3 locations in Westbrook, Madison & New Haven. Lenny & Joe's has been serving patrons ample portions of fresh seafood.This is the place to mix & match your favorite fried or broiled seafood like Gulf Shrimp, clam strips and scallops. Try the crab cakes and the buttery lobster roll too."

10 Best Fried Clams in New England – Yankee Magazine

10 Best Fried Clams in New England – Yankee Magazine

Yankee magazine wrote "The fried clams at Lenny and Joe's are crispy, sweet, and perfectly fried every time—something that similarly large, longstanding seafood shacks have a more difficult time doing. ……their method of cooking keeps the clams crunchy and free of lingering cooking oil. These remain the fried clams of choice on the Connecticut shoreline"

CT MAGAZINE – BEST SEAFOOD – EXPERTS PICKS

CT Magazine – Best Seafood – Experts Picks

In the January 2016 issue of the Connecticut Magazine, Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale was one of the Restaurants selected by "The Experts" for BEST SEAFOOD.

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence

Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence

Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale received a TripAdvisor® Certificate of Excellence. The achievement celebrates restaurants that have earned great traveler reviews on TripAdvisor over the past year. TripAdvisor honors hospitality businesses that have consistently received strong praise and ratings from travelers, To qualify, Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale maintained an overall TripAdvisor bubble rating of at least four out of five.

Coastal Living – The Best Seafood Dives in Connecticut 2016

Coastal Living – The Best Seafood Dives in Connecticut 2016

They wrote, "In three locations, the more casual Madison dive does not skimp on entertainment. It has a carousel. And an ice-cream stand. But the chowder, fried shrimp, and lobster roll steal the show. The Westbrook Lenny & Joe's boasts local favorites fried seafood, clear-broth clam chowder, and lobster rolls."

BEST SEAFOOD SHORELINE TIMES 2015 READER POLL

Best Seafood Shoreline Times 2015 Reader Poll

We are very proud to have won the BEST SEAFOOD RESTAURANT Award in the 2015 Shoreline Times Reader's Poll. We also won an award for our Lobster Rolls. They wrote "The customers have nothing but praise for Lenny & Joe's….They serve the Best Seafood around! We come every week because of this quality, the big portions, great service and reasonable prices."

BEST of New Haven Living Magazine Reader's Poll 2015

Best of New Haven Living Magazine Reader's Poll 2015

We are proud to Win The New Haven Living Magazine Reader's Poll as Best Seafood Restaurant for ALL 3 Years of the Poll. They wrote "…..rumor has it that Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale won our reader's votes for best seafood by a seaslide."

ROADFOOD REVIEW

Roadfood Review

Michael Stern, renowned Food & Travel Book Writer posted a great review of Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale in April, 2015 in Roadfood.com. Some of his quotes:
"…you can bank on Lenny & Joe's to deliver whole-bellied fried clams with toasty, golden crust that melts when you crunch it."
"We love the fried shrimp & scallops, even simple fried fish!"
"the undecided customer who craves the crunch of fresh fried seafood will be happy ordering a variety platter with some of everything. It is a gargantuan meal"
"The onion rings are slim & sweet with crust that is impossibly fragile, making them impossible to stop eating"
"L&J's serves a good hot lobster roll, meaning chunks and shreds of lobster meat glistening with butter heaped into a butter-toasted long roll." The kitchen also offers a soft-shell crab, in season, that is divine"
"menus of not only the fired seafood for which they are famous, but of broiled,char-broiled and sautéed seafood"

GO-TO GUIDE CT

Go-To Guide CT

In the 2015 Guide the 3 Fish Tale Restaurants were recognized for their "reliably good food" They wrote "Lenny & Joe's garnered the most attention for seafood with their three locations and atmospheres that work well for couples, singles, or families alike…..seafood lovers can get a fix anywhere on the shoreline!"
"Dinners enjoy commemorating their visits with a colorful Lenny & Joe's T-shirt- veritable collector's items that have been seen all over the world with new designs every year."

2015 E-List Winner

2015 E-List Winner

The-e-list announced the winners of their 2015 Shoreline Reader's Poll and we are very proud to have been voted #1 in Family Friendly Dining.

Timberland's New England Lobster Roll Guide

Timberland's New England Lobster Roll Guide

Our 3 Restaurants were 3 out of the 4 Restaurants in CT selected by Timberland as serving the Best Lobster Rolls on the East Coast. "Connecticut locals are as fiercely loyal to their hot butter version as they are to their favorite shacks….Lenny and Joe's Fish Tale Restaurants offer a relaxed vibe and fresh seafood."

AAA HORIZON'S MAGAZINE

AAA Horizon's Magazine

Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale New Haven Restaurant was featured in the July issue of the AAA Magazine's "Dining Out" section.
"The Lobster Roll is the best-seller here…Lenny & Joe's two-way combination, which allows the customer to choose two types of seafood….Kitchen is known for it's light, greaseless fried fish…..menu has a great selection of "light & healthy" broiled, salads and other choices under 600 calories, and many gluten-free options….Visible from Interstate 95 with a large patio overlooking the harbor."

NEW ENGLAND OPEN-H0USE COOKBOOK

New England Open-House Cookbook

We are very proud to have been featured in the just published cookbook, New England Open-House by Sarah Chase. Our CT Style Lobster Roll is featured in the book. "My recipe here is modeled after the Lobster Rolls I have enjoyed at Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale restaurant in Westbrook, CT" She also features our "Salt Potatoes." "These potatoes are the perfect accompaniment to many New England Seafood dishes."

SHORELINE BOOK TOP 10

Shoreline Book Top 10

LENNY & JOE'S FISH TALE WAS AGAIN NAMED THE "BEST OF THE BEST". We were chosen in the Top 10 Restaurants for both the West and East Shoreline Area.

TRIPADVISOR 2015 CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE

TripAdvisor 2015 Certificate Of Excellence

We earned this prestigious award in 2015 for consistently receiving great reviews of our Restaurant published on Tripadvisor.

BEST SEAFOOD • SHORELINE TIMES READER'S POLL

Best Seafood • Shoreline Times Reader's Poll

Lenny & Joe's won the BEST SEAFOOD RESTAURANT Award in the 2014 Shoreline Times Reader's Poll. We also won awards for our Lobster Rolls, Clam Chowder and Hot Dogs.
They wrote "You haven't really been to the Shoreline unless you've been to Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale" "They make it feel like summer, any time of the year…..!"

YANKEE MAGAZINE 10 BEST CLAM SHACKS IN NEW ENGLAND

Yankee Magazine 10 Best Clam Shacks In New England

When they chose us, they wrote: "This Connecticut shoreline institution, just up the road from Hammonasset Beach State Park, is a year-round seafood palace, serving up deep-fried platters of clams, scallops, shrimp, and wonderfully tasty scrod. Lighter fare in the form of grilled and broiled seafood and fresh, steamed lobster round out the menu. Their hot, buttered lobster roll is a shoreline classic."

WRCH Lite 100.5 FM BEST SEAFOOD IN CT

WRCH Lite 100.5 FM Best Seafood In CT

WRCH Lite 100.5 FM conducted a poll for the best seafood restaurant in CT. Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale won with over 65% of the Votes. Thank you!

New Haven Living Magazine 2014

New Haven Living Magazine 2014

It's Reel Cool to Win The New Haven Living Magazine Award as Best Seafood Restaurant for the 2nd Year in a Row. We also won awards for Outdoor Dining and Family Dining!

THE SHORELINE BOOK TOP 10

The Shoreline Book Top 10

Once again, Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale was named by the Shoreline Book as one of the Top 10 Restaurants on the CT Shoreline for both the Eastern and Western Shoreline! We are very proud of this recognition.

Advocate Best of Poll 2014

Advocate Best of Poll 2014

We're as Happy as a Clam that we were voted #1 Best Seafood Restaurant for the 3rd Year in a Row! We also won awards for Best Outdoor Dining, Best Waterview & Best Restaurant!

BEST SEAFOOD • SHORELINE TIMES READER'S POLL

Best Seafood • Shoreline Times Reader's Poll

Lenny & Joe's won the BEST SEAFOOD RESTAURANT Award in the 2013 Shoreline Times Reader's Poll. We also won awards for our Lobster Rolls, Chowder and Hot Dogs. They wrote "for over 34 years, Lenny & Joe's has been serving fresh fare in a relaxing, casual atmosphere winning legions of fans along the way!"

The New York Times Review 8-11-13

The New York Times Review 8-11-13

• The extensive menu is the same as the one in Westbrook, offering fried, baked and charbroiled dishes. The seafood is of uniformly excellent quality, reasonably priced and well prepared. Fried food remains a specialty, as evidenced by a generous plate of whole fried clams, coated with a flaky, nubby-textured crust that crunched appealingly against the clam's sweet, soft bellies. Appetizers of fried zucchini sticks and thin-sliced onions were encased in a thin, light crust; the zucchini was just tender, and what a pleasure to enjoy onions without the omnipresent thick sleeve of breading.
• I have eaten excellent fried scallops, coated with the nubby-textured crust that was so appealing on the clams, at the Madison location for years.
• The extra-long lobster roll was flawlessly executed, the toasted, split-top bun lightly buttered and amply stuffed with big chunks of tender, buttered lobster. A one-and-a-half-pound boiled whole lobster was sweet and moist, as was a broiled swordfish steak and a piece of broiled sole wrapped around a buttery, crab-and-cracker stuffing.

Insider Getaway • A Travel Reporter's Take

Insider Getaway • A Travel Reporter's Take

There is a campaign to celebrate all there is to do in Connecticut this fall. As part of the launch, they unveiled a list of 100 Ways to Fall for Connecticut and have been rolling out getaway itineraries from notable CT residents. FOX CT reporter Jim Altman was asked for his favorite fall picks and he mentioned Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale. "for something casual, stop by Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale….the Lobster Rolls are unforgettable."

Best Restaurants in CT – Urbanspoon.com

Best Restaurants in CT – Urbanspoon.com

Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale Restaurants were selected in August, 2013 to be on the list of The Best Restaurants in Connecticut by Urbanspoon.com

New Haven Living Magazine 2013

New Haven Living Magazine 2013

It's Reel Cool to Win The New Haven Living Magazine Award as Best Seafood Restaurant. It was announced in the August 2013 edition. Join Us Soon & Sea Why! (and 1st Runner Up for Outdoor Dining and Family Dining)

Elm City 2013 Readers Poll

Elm City 2013 Readers Poll

We're proud that the readers in the New Haven Register's Elm City 2013 Poll voted us Best Seafood Restaurant, Best Outdoor Dining, and Best New Restaurant! Thanks everyone! We are very proud!

Advocate Best of Poll – 2013

Advocate Best of Poll – 2013

Lenny & Joe's Fish Tales were selected the Best Seafood Restaurants by the Readers of the New Haven Advocate. This is the second consecutive year that we have been so honored!

Shoreline Book TOP 10 Restaurants

Shoreline Book Top 10 Restaurants

Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale was named by the Shoreline Book in May of 2013 as one of the Top 10 Restaurants on the CT Shoreline for both the Eastern and Western Shoreline!

The- E – List Poll Winner 2013

The- E – List Poll Winner 2013

In June 2013 the E-List readers voted Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale the BEST FAMILY DINING in the e-list 2013 BEST OF THE SHORELINE READER"S POLL.

2013 BEST of Hartford Magazine's Reader's Poll

2013 Best of Hartford Magazine's Reader's Poll

Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale Restaurants were1st Runner Up Winner for Best Seafood in the 2013 Best of Hartford Magazine's Readers Poll….We are so proud that we were first Runner-Up for BEST SEAFOOD…when we don't even have a Restaurant near Hartford. The readers are loyal Fish Talers who head to the Shore for GREAT FRESH SEAFOOD!

Great Review in New Haven Magazine

Great Review in New Haven Magazine

The March/April 2013 issue of the New Haven Magazine reviewed the new Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale Restaurant in New Haven.Here's some of their comments:
"It's a great spot for a date night or birthday, and most tables offer alluring water views."
"A cup of Fish Tale Chowder, light & flavorable, gets a meal off to a winning start"
"Fried Seafood is a specialty, with the best choice the tender and moist scallops. Fried shrimp shine with fresh flavor and meaty texture. Whole belly clams are succulent."
"With it's casual atmosphere and budget-friendly pricing, the new Lenny & Joe's brings a welcome breath of fresh ocean air to New Haven's dining scene."

Connecticut Hospitality Hall of Fame

Connecticut Hospitality Hall of Fame

On November 27th, Lenny and Joe's Fish Tale was inducted into the Connecticut Hospitality Hall of Fame. The Award was presented at the Connecticut Restaurant's Association Salute to Excellence Awards & Recognition Dinner held at Mohegan Sun!

Connecticut Magazine "BEST OF"

Connecticut Magazine "Best Of"

Lenny & Joe's Fish Tales were selected the Best Seafood Restaurant Statewide by the readers of CT Magazine!

E-LIST ONLINE

E-List Online

The Online E-List Reader's chose us as their Favorite Restaurants for Family Dining! The Kids are always very welcome at Lenny & Joe's…so we are very proud of this Award!

Shoreline Times Reader's Poll 2011

Shoreline Times Reader's Poll 2011

Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale was selected by the Shoreline Times readers as the BEST SEAFOOD RESTAURANTS!

Coastal Living

Coastal Living

In July 2011 Coastal Living Magazine's Readers Rated Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale as one of America's Best Seafood "Dives". They wrote, "Fried Seafood and Clear Broth Chowder are favorites…..plus readers rave that it serves the best lobster rolls in the whole wide world!"

2010 SHORELINE TIMES BEST OF

2010 Shoreline Times Best Of

In November 2010, the Readers of the Shoreline Times voted us BEST SEAFOOD RESTAURANT in their Annual Readers Poll! WE are very proud that this is our 8th straight year of being voted THE BEST….every year of the poll! Thank You!

Saveur Magazine May 2009

Saveur Magazine May 2009

In the May 2009 edition of Saveur Magazine, Lenny & Joe's Ct's Culinary diversity was celebrated. Our Lobster Roll was named as 1 of the 5 Featured CT Sanwiches. They wrote:

"Think Connecticut is one big suburb? Think again: its diverse immigrant communities, fertile farms, and vibrant university towns full of forward-thinking chefs add up to as rich a culinary landscape as that of many states three times its size.

1. A Connecticut-style hot lobster roll is sublimely simple: lobster meat, lots of butter, and a split-top hot dog bun. Try the one served at Lenny and Joe's Fish Tale in Westbrook."

2009 CT MAGAZINE BEST OF

2009 CT Magazine Best Of

Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale was named The Best Seafood Restaurant in Middlesex County by the Readers of
Connecticut Magazine in January 2009.

Winner Zip o6 Readers Poll 2019

Zip 06 2019 Best on the Shoreline

We're very proud of the awards that we earned in the 2019 ZIP06 & Shore Publishing's first BEST ON THE SHORELINE Readers' Choice Awards.
We were selected #1 BEST SEAFOOD and in the TOP 2 for Best Lobster Roll and Casual Dining.

2008 Shoreline Book

2008 Shoreline Book

Lenny & Joe were featured on the welcome page of the 2008 Shoreline Book. They wrote "What isn't a tale is just how good fried clams can be if you're willing to make the trip to Lenny & Joe's! If you're hankering for lobster, crab or shrimp- it's all on the menu along with seasonal broiled specials (bluefish, soft shell crabs, scallops and fresh salmon) Can't choose- order the Fish Tale Platter! Shoreline eat-in-the-rough heaven! Whether your preference is fried clams or hot lobster rolls or cruchy-skinned hot dogs, be sure to accompany the meal with luxurious onion rings and french fries.

Elan Magazine 2008

Elan Magazine 2008

Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale was featured in the summer of 2008 Edition of Elan Magazine. They featured clam shacks that beckon to the Beach Crowd. They wrote: "A clam shack is a state of mind. We've picked the best shacks along the shoreline…..
"Lenny & Joe's is the Tavern on the Green of clam shacks….The Fish Tale is famous for serving generous portions of fresh seafood im a friendly and efficient manner. Everything is prepared from scratch and cooked to order."

New England Clam Shack Cookbook

New England Clam Shack Cookbook

The 2nd Edition New England Clam Shack Cookbook
was published in June 2008.
There was a profile of Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale,
as well as some recipes.
They wrote the following: Step through the doors of Lenny & Joe's Fish Tale on Route 1 in eastern CT and you feel that unmistakable energy and positive vibe-not to mention smell the mouth-watering aromas-identifying it as one of those truly successful establishments. Everything works here, thanks to owners Lenny & Joe and their attention to detail. Slide into a booth, put yourself in the hands of your experienced, friendly waitress, and settle in to peruse the extensive menu.

Start with a cup of their classic and uniquely full-of-flavor clam chowder or a plate of clams or oysters on the half shell, or steamers with butter and broth, or jumbo shrimp cocktail, or fried calamari, or crab cakes. You can't improve on a lunch of one of Lenny and Joe's seafood rolls.

I love their unpretentious yet absolutely outstanding Hot Buttered Lobster Roll, and all the fired seafood rolls and platters (stip or belly clams, scallops, shrimp, or oysters) are wonderful options. Lenny and Joe also offer a full panoply of broiled seafood-scrod, sole, catfish. scallops, salmon. Portions are huge, so plan to share.

Happily, the Fish Tale is open year-round, so if you are craving a hit of summer in the off season, this is the place.